Safe Driving

Find Vehicle Size - Find your size on your tire

A tire’s sidewall is simply the outer and inner “walls” on the sides of a tire. Every sidewall has its own unique information that is divided into three main sections:

1. Tire Specs

This describes the fundamental characteristics of your tire. Size, construction, speed rating, and more.

  • Tire Type

    This designates the type of vehicle the tire fits. P is for passenger metric. Other letters are LT (light truck), T (temporary spare) and ST (special trailers). If your tire has no letter, this signifies a Euro “metric” size. P-metric and Euro-metric tires in the same size are equivalent in their dimensions but may have slight differences in load capacity and inflation pressure recommendations.

  • Tire Width

    Also called Section Width, this is the width of the tire (or thickness) in millimetres, if measured from a tire’s widest point of its outer sidewall to the widest point of its inner sidewall. Why millimetres? It originated in Europe, which uses the metric system.

  • Aspect Ratio

    This identifies the tire’s aspect ratio, which is the relationship of the tire’s sidewall height to the tire’s width. In this example, the sidewall height of the tire is 55% of its width. The lower the ratio, the smaller the sidewall height, which means better cornering, but a rougher ride.

  • Construction

    This is the tire’s internal construction, which is “radial.” Almost every tire on the road has radial construction, which means the cords of the carcass plies inside the tire “radiate” directly across from one side of the tire to the other. Other letters used are D, for diagonal construction, and B, for belted.

  • Wheel Diameter

    This number (in inches) indicates that the tire is designed to fit on a wheel with an 18-inch diameter.

  • Load Index

    This indicates how much weight the tire is certified to carry at maximum safe inflation. It doesn’t mean 97 pounds, because it’s actually an assigned value that corresponds with its “actual” load capacity found on a load index chart. If you look up 97 on the chart, you’ll find 1,609 pounds.

  • Speed Rating

    This indicates the maximum safe speed at which a tire is certified to carry a load under specified conditions. Speed ratings range from A (lowest) to Y (highest), with one exception: H falls between U and V. Exceeding the lawful speed limit is neither recommended or endorsed.

P 255 / 55 R 18 97 T
  • Tire Type (P)

    This designates the type of vehicle the tire fits. P is for passenger metric. Other letters are LT (light truck), T (temporary spare) and ST (special trailers). If your tire has no letter, this signifies a Euro “metric” size. P-metric and Euro-metric tires in the same size are equivalent in their dimensions but may have slight differences in load capacity and inflation pressure recommendations.

  • Tire Width (255)

    Also called Section Width, this is the width of the tire (or thickness) in millimetres, if measured from a tire’s widest point of its outer sidewall to the widest point of its inner sidewall. Why millimetres? It originated in Europe, which uses the metric system.

  • Aspect Ratio (55)

    This identifies the tire’s aspect ratio, which is the relationship of the tire’s sidewall height to the tire’s width. In this example, the sidewall height of the tire is 55% of its width. The lower the ratio, the smaller the sidewall height, which means better cornering, but a rougher ride.

  • Construction (R)

    This is the tire’s internal construction, which is “radial.” Almost every tire on the road has radial construction, which means the cords of the carcass plies inside the tire “radiate” directly across from one side of the tire to the other. Other letters used are D, for diagonal construction, and B, for belted.

  • Wheel Diameter (18)

    This number (in inches) indicates that the tire is designed to fit on a wheel with an 18-inch diameter.

  • Load Index (97)

    This indicates how much weight the tire is certified to carry at maximum safe inflation. It doesn’t mean 97 pounds, because it’s actually an assigned value that corresponds with its “actual” load capacity found on a load index chart. If you look up 97 on the chart, you’ll find 1,609 pounds.

  • Speed Rating (T)

    This indicates the maximum safe speed at which a tire is certified to carry a load under specified conditions. Speed ratings range from A (lowest) to Y (highest), with one exception: H falls between U and V. Exceeding the lawful speed limit is neither recommended or endorsed.

2. Department of Transportation Safety Code

This assures that your tire complies with all Department of Transportation (DOT) safety standards. After the DOT insignia is your tire’s identification number, which begins with the tire’s manufacturer and plant code where the tire was manufactured (two numbers or letters). The ninth and tenth characters tell the week the tire was manufactured. The final number(s) signifies the year the tire was manufactured.

  • DOT

    Department of Transportation Safety Code

  • B9

    Tire's manufacturer and plant code

  • YR

    Denotes tire size

  • UJNX

    Optional characters that identify brand and other significant characteristics of the tire

  • 50

    Denotes week the tire was produced

  • 08

    Denotes year the tire was manufactured

DOT B9 YR UJNX 50 08
  • DOT

    Department of Transportation Safety Code

  • B9

    Tire's manufacturer and plant code

  • YR

    Denotes tire size

  • UJNX

    Optional characters that identify brand and other significant characteristics of the tire

  • 50

    Denotes week the tire was produced

  • 08

    Denotes year the tire was manufactured

3. UTQG code

The Uniform Tire Quality Grading (UTQG) was established by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) to test tires following government-prescribed test methods and then grade each tire on three main components:

  • Treadwear: This is the wear rate of the tire, comparable only to other tires within a tire manufacturer’s line. The baseline grade is 100. Therefore a tire with 200 would theoretically last twice as long on the government’s course compared to a tire with 100.
  • Traction: Traction grades are AA, A, B and C (with AA being the highest grade). They represent the tire’s ability to stop straight on wet pavement as measured on a specified government track. Any tire rated under C is considered unacceptable for road travel.
  • Temperature:The temperature grades, from highest to lowest, are A, B and C. These represent the tire’s ability to dissipate heat under controlled indoor test conditions. Any tire rated below C is considered unacceptable.
4. Icons

Some tires have unique benefits, as showcased with specific icons.
The letters M and S (M+S) indicate that the tire meets the Rubber Manufacturers Association’s standards for a mud and snow tire. The letters can be found in the following combinations: M+S, M/S and M&S. All-season tires carry this mark.

Find your tire size in your vehicle owner’s manual or on your door

  • Find the information in your vehicle owner’s manual in the glove compartment or on the tire information sticker on your driver’s side door.
  • Usually those elements contain all the information related to your tire size and specifications as well as the appropriate tire pressure.

See the “Find your tire size on your tire” tab for a full description of the numbers and letters.

What are OE tires?

OE stands for “Original Equipment”, meaning that the tires were approved by your vehicle manufacturer to come standard on your vehicle.

Some vehicle manufacturers, such as Audi, BMW, Mercedes, and others, equip their vehicles with tires that are specifically made for their brand. These tires have a special OE marking on the sidewall. In this case, Michelin recommends to replace tires on your vehicle only with tires equipped with necessary OE marking. Table of OE markings by vehicle brand :

  • = BMW, Mini
  • MO = Mercedes
  • AO = Audi
  • VO = Volkswagen
  • N0, N1, N2, N3, N4 = Porsche
  • MO1 = AMG
  • RO1 = QUATTRO

Conduite securitaire

Trouver la dimension des pneus pour votre véhicule

Les flancs d’un pneu sont simplement les parois extérieures et intérieures des côtés du pneu. Chaque flanc de pneu fournit des renseignements particuliers divisés en trois grandes catégories :

1. Caractéristiques du pneu

C’est une description des caractéristiques fondamentales de votre pneu : dimension, structure, cote de vitesse et autres renseignements.

  • Largeur du pneu

    Aussi appelée largeur de section, elle indique la largeur du pneu (ou son épaisseur) en millimètres à partir du point le plus large du flanc extérieur jusqu’au point le plus large du flanc intérieur. Pourquoi en millimètres? Parce que la désignation vient d’Europe et qu’on y utilise le système métrique.

  • Rapport d’aspect

    Le rapport d’aspect est le rapport entre la hauteur du flanc et la largeur de la section, exprimé en pourcentage. Dans cet exemple, la hauteur du flanc du pneu est égale à 55 % de sa largeur. Moins le rapport est élevé, moins haut est le flanc, ce qui signifie une meilleure prise de virages, mais aussi une conduite moins confortable.

  • Structure

    Indique la structure interne du pneu, soit « radiale ». Presque tous les pneus en circulation ont une structure radiale, ce qui signifie que les câbles textiles des plis de la carcasse traversent le pneu d’un côté à l’autre. Les autres lettres utilisées sont D, indiquant une structure en diagonale, et B, indiquant une structure ceinturée.

  • Construction

    Il s'agit de la construction interne du pneu, étant ici une construction « radiale ». Presque tous les pneus que l'on trouve sur les routes sont de construction radiale, ce qui signifie que les cordes des couches de carcasse à l'intérieur du pneu « irradient » directement d'un côté du pneu à l'autre. Les autres lettres pouvant être utilisées sont D, pour la construction diagonale, et B, pour « belted » (ceinture).

  • Diamètre de la roue

    Ce nombre (en pouces) indique que le pneu est conçu pour une roue d’un diamètre de 18 pouces.

  • Indice de charge

    Ce nombre indique la certification de charge maximale certifiée d’un pneu au gonflage maximal sécuritaire. Il n’indique pas 97 livres, mais plutôt une valeur attribuée correspondant à sa capacité de charge réelle, qu’on trouve dans un tableau des indices de charge. Si vous cherchez 97 dans le tableau, vous verrez 1069 lb.

  • Cote de vitesse

    La cote de vitesse indique la certification de vitesse maximale à laquelle un pneu peut porter une charge dans des conditions spécifiques. Les cotes de vitesse vont de A (la plus basse) à Y (la plus élevée) à une exception près : le H est situé entre le U et le V. La conduite au-delà des limites de vitesse légales n’est ni recommandée ni encouragée.

P 255 / 55 R 18 97 T
  • Largeur du pneu

    Aussi appelée largeur de section, elle indique la largeur du pneu (ou son épaisseur) en millimètres à partir du point le plus large du flanc extérieur jusqu’au point le plus large du flanc intérieur. Pourquoi en millimètres? Parce que la désignation vient d’Europe et qu’on y utilise le système métrique.

  • Rapport d’aspect

    Le rapport d’aspect est le rapport entre la hauteur du flanc et la largeur de la section, exprimé en pourcentage. Dans cet exemple, la hauteur du flanc du pneu est égale à 55 % de sa largeur. Moins le rapport est élevé, moins haut est le flanc, ce qui signifie une meilleure prise de virages, mais aussi une conduite moins confortable.

  • Structure

    Indique la structure interne du pneu, soit « radiale ». Presque tous les pneus en circulation ont une structure radiale, ce qui signifie que les câbles textiles des plis de la carcasse traversent le pneu d’un côté à l’autre. Les autres lettres utilisées sont D, indiquant une structure en diagonale, et B, indiquant une structure ceinturée.

  • Construction

    Il s'agit de la construction interne du pneu, étant ici une construction « radiale ». Presque tous les pneus que l'on trouve sur les routes sont de construction radiale, ce qui signifie que les cordes des couches de carcasse à l'intérieur du pneu « irradient » directement d'un côté du pneu à l'autre. Les autres lettres pouvant être utilisées sont D, pour la construction diagonale, et B, pour « belted » (ceinture).

  • Diamètre de la roue

    Ce nombre (en pouces) indique que le pneu est conçu pour une roue d’un diamètre de 18 pouces.

  • Indice de charge

    Ce nombre indique la certification de charge maximale certifiée d’un pneu au gonflage maximal sécuritaire. Il n’indique pas 97 livres, mais plutôt une valeur attribuée correspondant à sa capacité de charge réelle, qu’on trouve dans un tableau des indices de charge. Si vous cherchez 97 dans le tableau, vous verrez 1069 lb.

  • Cote de vitesse

    La cote de vitesse indique la certification de vitesse maximale à laquelle un pneu peut porter une charge dans des conditions spécifiques. Les cotes de vitesse vont de A (la plus basse) à Y (la plus élevée) à une exception près : le H est situé entre le U et le V. La conduite au-delà des limites de vitesse légales n’est ni recommandée ni encouragée.

2. Code de sécurité du ministère des Transports

Ce code indique que vos pneus sont conformes aux normes de sécurité du ministère des Transports des États-Unis (Department of Transportation ou DOT). Après le symbole du DOT figure le numéro d’identification de vos pneus, qui commence par le code du fabricant et de l’usine où ils ont été fabriqués (composé de deux chiffres ou lettres). Les neuvième et dixième caractères vous indiquent la semaine de fabrication de vos pneus. Les derniers numéros indiquent l’année de fabrication de vos pneus.

  • DOT

    Département des Transports des États-Unis

  • B9

    Identifient l'usine où le pneu a été fabriqué

  • YR

    Identifient la dimension du pneu

  • UJNX

    Identifient des caractères optionnels par le fabricant pour décrire les caractéristiques du pneu

  • 50

    Identifient la semaine de fabrication du pneu

  • 08

    Identifient l'année de fabrication du pneu

DOT B9 YR UJNX 50 08
  • DOT

    Département des Transports des États-Unis

  • B9

    Identifient l'usine où le pneu a été fabriqué

  • YR

    Identifient la dimension du pneu

  • UJNX

    Identifient des caractères optionnels par le fabricant pour décrire les caractéristiques du pneu

  • 50

    Identifient la semaine de fabrication du pneu

  • 08

    Identifient l'année de fabrication du pneu

3. Code UTGQ

Le classement uniforme de qualité des pneus (UTGQ) a été établi par la the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) pour mettre à l’essai les pneus conformément aux méthodes d’essai gouvernementales prescrites et leur donner une note sur chacune de ces trois composantes principales :

  • Usure de la bande de roulement: il s’agit du taux d’usure du pneu, comparable à celui d’autres pneus dans la gamme de pneus d’un fabricant. 100 représente le classement de base. Par conséquent, un pneu ayant un indice de 200 durerait en théorie deux fois plus longtemps sur la piste d’essai gouvernementale qu’un pneu ayant un indice de 100.
  • Adhérence: les indices d’adhérence sont AA, A, B et C (AA étant l’indice le plus élevé). Ces indices représentent la capacité du pneu à s’arrêter en ligne droite sur une chaussée mouillée comme mesurée sur une piste d'essai gouvernementale spécifique. Tout pneu ayant un indice inférieur à C est considéré inacceptable pour rouler sur la route.
  • Température:les indices de température, du plus élevé au plus faible sont A, B et C. Ils représentent la capacité du pneu à dissiper la chaleur dans des conditions d’essai intérieures contrôlées. Tout pneu ayant un indice inférieur à C est considéré comme étant inacceptable.
4. Icônes

Certains pneus offrent des avantages particuliers, indiqués par des icônes particuliers. Les lettres M et S (M+S) indiquent que le pneu répond aux normes de la Rubber Manufacturers Association pour la conduite dans la boue et la neige. Ces lettres peuvent figurer selon les combinaisons suivantes : M+S, M/S et M&S. Les pneus toutes-saisons portent ce marquage.

Trouvez la dimension de votre pneu dans le manuel du propriétaire de votre véhicule ou sur le montant de porte.

Une fois que vous savez la dimension de pneu qui convient à votre véhicule, vous devez choisir entre les différents types de pneus. Les pneus peuvent se ressembler, mais ils peuvent être conçus en fonction de conditions et d’utilisations très différentes.

Pensez à ce qui suit :
  1. Quelles sont les conditions climatiques dans lesquelles je conduis? Quelles sont les pires situations auxquelles je pourrais faire face?
  2. Où vais-je conduire? Les rues, les autoroutes et les sentiers forestiers exigent des caractéristiques de performance différentes.
  3. Quel est votre style de conduite? Aimez-vous sentir chaque courbe ou préférez-vous rouler en douceur?

Voir nos autres conseils pour approfondir chaque question.

Qu’est-ce qu’un pneu d’équipement d’origine (OE)?

La désignation « OE » (équipement d’origine) signifie que le pneu est approuvé par le constructeur de votre véhicule comme équipement standard sur votre véhicule.

Certains constructeurs de véhicules comme Audi, BMW et Mercedes, entre autres, équipent leurs véhicules de pneus fabriqués spécialement pour leur marque. Ces pneus portent une marque spéciale OE sur le flanc. Dans ce cas, Michelin vous recommande de remplacer les pneus de votre véhicule uniquement par des pneus portant la marque OE appropriée.
Tableau des marques OE par marque de véhicule :

  • = BMW, Mini
  • MO = Mercedes
  • AO = Audi
  • VO = Volkswagen
  • N0, N1, N2, N3, N4 = Porsche
  • MO1 = AMG
  • RO1 = QUATTRO