Tire Inspector Tool

The Tire Doctor will see you now. If you notice a problem with one of your tires, we can diagnose it here. Which of the following best describes the problem?

Safe Driving

Vibration

Tires Out of Balance OR Steering & Suspension System Malfunction

Tires that are out of balance can cause a vibration that can lead to driver fatigue, premature or uneven tire wear, and unnecessary wear and tear on your vehicle's suspension. Tires should be balanced when they are mounted on wheels for the first time or when they are remounted after being repaired.

Solution:

Pay serious and immediate attention to vibrations. The solution could be as simple as rebalancing your tires, but it could be as dangerous and complicated as fixing your steering and suspension system. Visit your local authorized Michelin tire dealer at the very first sign of vibration or "shimmy." If rebalancing doesn't eliminate the vibration, have the alignment and/or suspension system components checked.

Pulling to One Side

Poor Alignment
You need an alignment when you notice:
  • Uneven front or rear tire wear.
  • Changes in your vehicle's handling or steering response (e.g., pulling to one side).
Solution:

Many vehicles today are equipped with rear suspensions that can be adjusted for alignment. If this is the case, your vehicle may need a "front end" alignment or a "four wheel" alignment, depending on the symptoms you are experiencing. See your local authorized Michelin tire dealer for service and inspection.

Shimmy

Tires Out of Balance OR Steering & Suspension System Malfunction

Tires that are out of balance can cause a vibration that can lead to driver fatigue, premature or uneven tire wear, and unnecessary wear and tear on your vehicle's suspension. Tires should be balanced when they are mounted on wheels for the first time or when they are remounted after being repaired.

Poor Steering or Poor Handling

Poor Alignment
You need an alignment when you notice:
  • Uneven front or rear tire wear.
  • Changes in your vehicle's handling or steering response (e.g., pulling to one side).
Solution:

Many vehicles today are equipped with rear suspensions that can be adjusted for alignment. If this is the case, your vehicle may need a "front end" alignment or a "four wheel" alignment, depending on the symptoms you are experiencing. See your local authorized Michelin tire dealer for service and inspection.

Outil d’inspection des pneus

L’expert des pneus est à votre disposition. Si vous avez décelé un problème sur un de vos pneus, nous pouvons le diagnostiquer ici. Lequel de ces éléments décrit le mieux le problème?

Conduite securitaire

Vibration

Mauvais équilibrage des roues OU défaillance du système de direction ou de suspension

Des roues mal équilibrées peuvent causer des vibrations pouvant entraîner la fatigue du conducteur, l’usure prématurée ou inégale de la bande de roulement et l’usure accélérée de la suspension de votre véhicule. Les pneus doivent être équilibrés lorsqu’ils sont montés sur les roues pour la première fois ou après une réparation.

Solution :

Portez une attention sérieuse et immédiate aux vibrations. La solution peut être aussi simple qu’un rééquilibrage des roues, ou aussi compliquée et coûteuse que la réparation de votre système de direction ou de suspension. Visitez le détaillant autorisé Michelin de votre localité dès les premiers signes de vibration ou de « shimmy ». Si le rééquilibrage des roues n’élimine pas la vibration, faites vérifier le parallélisme des roues et/ou les composants de la suspension.

Tirage d’un côté

Défaut d’alignement
Vous devez faire régler le parallélisme des roues si vous remarquez :
  • Usure inégale des pneus avant ou arrière.
  • Changements dans la tenue de route du véhicule ou la réaction de la direction (p. ex., tirage d’un côté).
Solution :

De nos jours, de nombreux véhicules sont équipés d’une suspension arrière réglable pour ajuster le parallélisme des roues. Si c’est le cas, votre véhicule pourrait avoir besoin d’un réglage du parallélisme des roues « avant » ou des « quatre roues », selon les symptômes constatés. Voyez le détaillant autorisé Michelin de votre localité pour le service et l’inspection de vos pneus.

Shimmy

Mauvais équilibrage des roues OU défaillance du système de direction ou de suspension

Des roues mal équilibrées peuvent causer des vibrations pouvant entraîner la fatigue du conducteur, l’usure prématurée ou inégale de la bande de roulement et l’usure accélérée de la suspension de votre véhicule. Les pneus doivent être équilibrés lorsqu’ils sont montés sur les roues pour la première fois ou après une réparation.

Direction ou tenue de route insatisfaisante

Défaut d’alignement
Vous devez faire régler le parallélisme des roues si vous remarquez :
  • Usure inégale des pneus avant ou arrière.
  • Changements dans la tenue de route du véhicule ou la réaction de la direction (p. ex., tirage d’un côté).
Solution :

De nos jours, de nombreux véhicules sont équipés d’une suspension arrière réglable pour ajuster le parallélisme des roues. Si c’est le cas, votre véhicule pourrait avoir besoin d’un réglage du parallélisme des roues « avant » ou des « quatre roues », selon les symptômes constatés. Voyez le détaillant autorisé Michelin de votre localité pour le service et l’inspection de vos pneus.